top of page
  • Writer's pictureHillary Turnage

I've come so far, but still so far to go!

Updated: Jul 22, 2023



When I first sat down to begin this post and started reflecting on where I am as opposed to where I began this program in May. I was honestly so surprised at the amount of progress I have made already. I came in feeling overwhelmed and quickly became defeated when I did not know how to do something (especially creating an e-portfolio). In my blog post Am I Finally Getting the Hang of This? I talk about my shift in mindset and what I attribute to this. Looking back even to when I wrote that post only four short weeks ago, I believe that I have shifted even further into the growth mindset and really see myself as willing to face a challenge head on as an opportunity rather than a setback.


Growth mindset is so important for students, but even more so for educators. We can expect our students to grow a mindset that they can improve upon if we do not foster an environment that does. In my post Why Growth Mindset is so Important I reference Nigel Holmes graphic with a fixed mindset side by side with a growth mindset. I’ve really thought back on this graphic multiple times during the course of this class and have seen where my mindset has shifted.


When presented with the task of blogging I had never blogged before and had no idea where to begin. Would I blog about something no one had interest in? Would my writing style be appealing to others? Initially my fixed mindset told me to give up because I didn’t know what I was doing and didn’t want to look uneducated. However, over the course of the last eight weeks my mindset has shifted. I now enjoy blogging and can really put my real voice into my posts because they are mine, for me. Visit my blog page here. My collaborative group (Ashley Lee, Amanda Mask, and Lindsay Krueger) have all given me feedback over the weeks and instead of ignoring their thoughts, I have learned from them and adapted. I truly believe Collaboration is Key (also see my Stop, Collaborate and Listen! post).


Probably one of the biggest and most valuable things that I have learned through this program so far is that my voice and ownership matters. I plan to take this new learning and understanding through the rest of the ADL program and beyond. As I continue to work through my Innovation Plan, I will continue to foster my growth mindset and learn from the feedback. I will take what I learn and apply it to make adjustments, spawn new ideas and persevere to learn even more.


References


Dwayne Harapnuik, Tilisa Thibodeaux, & Cynthia Cummings. (2018). Choice, Ownership, and Voice through Authentic Learning COVA. Creative Commons License. https://doi.org/https://gallery.mailchimp.com/1bdbac4d4fbdff334a642eb11/files/8b18ae2 a-8696-4d58-9b80-192f4cc6624c/COVA_eBook_Jan_2018.02.pdf


Dwayne Harapnuik. (2015, May 9). Creating Significant Learning Environments (CSLE) [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/eZ-c7rz7eT4


Harapnuik, D. (2013, April 5). Fixed Vs Growth Mindset = Print Vs Digital Information Age. Harapnuik.org. https://www.harapnuik.org/?p=3627


Horn, M. B., Staker, H., & Christensen, C. M. (2015). Blended: Using disruptive innovation to improve schools. Jossey-Bass.


Photo: "Long Train Ride" by public domain image- Media from Wix

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page