top of page
  • Writer's pictureHillary Turnage

Collaboration is Key





When I first began the Applied Digital Learning program in May I was quickly overwhelmed and thought I had jumped into something that was way over my head. I remember thinking “what did I get myself into?” and “why did I think this was a good idea?” In my post Stop, collaborate and listen! I talk about my reservations about group work. I was very apprehensive to be told we had to participate in a group, much less form one on our own. Not to mention there wasn’t a definite “this is how you do this” but was left up to us.


I replied to a couple of posts in the student/faculty lounge about forming groups and was so thankful when Ashley Lee reached out to me and asked me to join their group. These three core ladies that I have formed a group with (Amanda Mask, Ashley Lee and Lindsay Krueger) have really been a God send and I highly value their input. We have spent hours on Zoom meetings discussing both classes as we are all in the accelerated ADL program, as well as, exchanged numerous emails, texts and feedback on assignments and discussion posts. We have also occasionally had Mikeela Pittman and Samantha Jimenez join in on some of our zoom meetings as well to offer their point of views.


(Top row: Lindsay, Amanda, Ashley. Bottom row: Samantha, Me, Mikeela)


Our group communicated in several different ways (weekly zoom meetings, text messages and through shared Microsoft documents). We have really divided and conquered throughout this summer class (5305). Amanda created a document that we used to divide and conquer the reading and note taking for the literature review. I created a document that is set up for the rest of the ADL program since we all plan to follow that course. This document is used to link our rough drafts/assignments so that they can be proofread and then be given feedback and feed-forward to one another and make adjustments as needed. I have read through each of my group members innovation proposal, literature review, and implementation plan and made comments and gave feedback/feed-forward to each of them, as they have done for me.


I have posted and commented on every discussion board often multiple times. Specifically in 5303, I have posted my e-portfolio to have other students rather than just my group to be able to give me feedback. Again, see my Stop, collaborate and listen! post. I have also looked at so many different e-portfolios. I have carefully taken into consideration each given suggestion and feedback and modified and adjusted my e-portfolio. Getting and giving feedback on the e-portfolio is crucial as it helps the owner know how user friendly and appealing it is to the audience. I want my site to be inviting and easy to navigate and without the feedback from my peers I would have overlooked some of that.


I have done all the course readings and watched all the videos, repeatedly. I refer to Dr. Harapnuik’s tip and perspective page often, as well as, his other pages that he points to for examples and references. When I have received feedback from Creighton or Dr. Harapnuik, I have gone back and revised my work just I have done with my collaborative group.


While at first, I was frustrated and again a little overwhelmed to begin group work, I am now so thankful that we were not just placed in groups at random. I am thankful that we were able to choose who we grouped with because these three ladies have been so helpful and even more encouraging. I really cannot imagine getting through this program without them. I am reminded of my Why Growth Mindset is so Important post, I came into this program with what I now know as a fixed mindset. But through a lot of hard work, encouragement, feedback and feed-forward I have had a change in my thinking. I now have a growth mindset and believe that I can do this: that I will do this. We have all talked about our plan to stay on the accelerated path and plan to stay the course and finish with the accelerated timeline. I wholeheartedly believe that without these ladies I don’t think that I could do this. Collaboration is so important!


In just a few short months I have made a lot of progress, however, I always think that there is room to grow. I have posted in every discussion and replied to several people within the discussion boards, however I would like to task myself to take more initiative and reach out to others that are not in my group. I have attended most class meetings and participated in class; however I would like to be more participatory in my class meetings offering more to the conversations. I think it is important to get insight from a variety of people to challenge myself to do and be even better.


So, when examining how I contributed to the learning of others and myself I give myself a 48/50. (5305)

So, when examining how I contributed to the learning of others and myself I give myself a 94/100. (5303)



References


Dwayne Harapnuik, Tilisa Thibodeaux, & Cynthia Cummings. (2018). Choice, Ownership, and Voice through Authentic Learning COVA. Creative Commons License. https://doi.org/https://gallery.mailchimp.com/1bdbac4d4fbdff334a642eb11/files/8b18ae2 a-8696-4d58-9b80-192f4cc6624c/COVA_eBook_Jan_2018.02.pdf


Harapnuik, D. (2022, October 13). EDLD 5320 Examples. Harapnuik.org. https://www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=7530


Harapnuik, D. (2013, April 5). Fixed Vs Growth


Mindset = Print Vs Digital Information Age. Harapnuik.org. https://www.harapnuik.org/?p=3627


Harapnuik, Dwayne. (2021, August 16). ADL Tips & Perspectives. Harapnuik.org. https://www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=8544


photo: "Keys on a ring" by WixMedia


19 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


akennedy16
Jul 23, 2023

You have been a God send for our group too!!!

Like
bottom of page