top of page
  • Writer's pictureHillary Turnage

COVA and my newfound passion



When I first began this program, I had no idea what to expect or what I should do for my innovation proposal. It was suggested that if you don’t know where to start, start with blended learning. So that is what I did. Quickly I began reading and researching what exactly blended learning was and quickly I began to understand that I had already started some of that in my classroom without knowing.


As I dove further into my research, I realized just how passionate I truly am about blended learning, specifically through the station rotation model. Many teachers (especially elementary) use station rotations and have for years, but my newfound passion was to help level up what we have already been doing to support our students even more.




I want to cultivate an environment in which my students’ needs are being met by allowing them to have choice, ownership, and voice through an authentic learning environment (COVA). To make this a reality in the classroom will require that I give up some control so that students are permitted to make mistakes that they can ultimately learn from. Students will be able to choose from a variety of different stations including curriculum-based hands-on stations, age-appropriate technology stations and STEM opportunities.


I truly believe that embracing blended learning through the station rotation model can radically enrich the learning of my young students and provide them with the capacity to become life-long learners.


View my whole innovation plan here.




References


Dwayne Harapnuik, Tilisa Thibodeaux, & Cynthia Cummings. (2018). Choice, Ownership, and Voice through Authentic Learning COVA. Creative Commons License. https://doi.org/https://gallery.mailchimp.com/1bdbac4d4fbdff334a642eb11/files/8b18ae2 a-8696-4d58-9b80-192f4cc6624c/COVA_eBook_Jan_2018.02.pdf


Dwayne Harapnuik. (2015, May 9). Creating Significant Learning Environments (CSLE) [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/eZ-c7rz7eT4


Horn, M. B., Staker, H., & Christensen, C. M. (2015). Blended: Using disruptive innovation to improve schools. Jossey-Bass.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bình luận


bottom of page