top of page
  • Writer's pictureHillary Turnage

A New Culture of Learning


As a kindergarten teacher, I have a unique opportunity to teach some of the tiniest and youngest learners in education. These little learners come into my classroom each year with a wide range of experience, or for some a lack of experiences. But almost all my students have an innate curiosity and actually WANT to learn. What is probably my most favorite thing about teaching kindergarten is the “ah ha!” moment that they have when they figure something out. At this age they are still full of wonder and surprise.


Though these students come in with this natural desire and ease for learning, it often tapers off throughout their educational journey. School no longer becomes easy and fun for them, but more work and difficult. Thomas says, “Learning is easy, natural, and effortless everywhere but school.” (2012) So how can we keep that spark of wonder and curiosity alive as students mature and progress in education?


Embracing Thomas's vision of a new culture of learning supports collaborative, inquiry-based, and self-directed learning, while allowing an element of play into the educational process. By incorporating play, educators can foster a significant learning environment, encouraging students to explore, experiment, and innovate. This not only equips them with critical thinking and problem-solving skills but also sparks their curiosity and creativity.


Navigating hard conversations will be inevitable. Knowing how to navigate crucial conversations will be the biggest way I will be able to address and overcome the certain challenges that arise. It will be somewhat challenging to persuade colleagues and administration that play should be incorporated into our classrooms and curriculum, because for years we have been told that play belongs on the playground and work belongs in the classroom. I have even caught myself saying those things to my students before, but what a sad reality that is for learners not to find enjoyment in their learning. And what better way to enjoy learning that to explore and play, especially for little learners? To address these concerns and the potential push-back there can be professional learning provided to educate and enlighten others of the benefits and needs of play-based learning. I will also leverage my 4DX and Six Sources of Influence strategies to foster change. Teachers, like any other profession, are creature of habit and routine. Most days we follow the same schedule and plan as we did the day before. Because of this, resistance to change can be a real challenge when trying to implement something out of the “norm”. My plan to combat the resistance to change is to start with my classroom and begin to slowly implement the learning environment that I want to create. I will begin to implement my innovation plan in my own classroom so that as it grows and develops, others will see the benefits that small changes can make. I can refer back to my growth mindset plan when mindsets default to a fixed place and think that change is not possible. When the growth mindset is promoted within the classroom it transfers to all aspects of the lives of the students and teacher as well. Students are not easily deflated when they are unable to learn a new sport quickly while teachers are more willing to begin a new initiative in their classrooms. The growth mindset is not only for the educational setting, but a good life outlook in general.


How can we begin to shift from the traditional model of teaching to a new culture of learning?


Embrace Change Through Play


“Change motivates and challenges. … change forces us to learn differently.” (Thomas, 2011) As the GFE kindergarten team and beyond starts to adopt the mindset of creating significant learning environments using blended learning through the station rotation model, our students will begin to experience school in a way that incorporates fun and self-directed learning. Because children use play and imagination as the primary tool for making sense of the world around them, they need to leverage that innate curiosity to continue to make sense of the influx of new information in this ever-changing world. As educators we must embrace this new way of leading our classrooms so that students will begin to own their choices and learning in a fun and challenging way. When students experience COVA, the shift in our educational approach turns towards a culture of play-based learning that not only prepares students for the ever-changing world but also instills a deep, lifelong love for learning.


Adopting this approach into my own classroom is essential in showing others the potential that CSLE has on students and teachers alike. As a kindergarten teacher, I want to nourish the innate curiosity in my little learners. I want them to be active participants in their learning. I want them to develop critical thinking skills while having fun and exploring. I want them to know how smart they are and just because they can’t do it YET, doesn’t mean they won’t be able to someday. I want them to believe in themselves as learners, creators, innovators as much as I do. I have the future in my classroom, and I intend on nurturing it into the best possibility of themselves as I can. And I hope you do to.


References

Bates, T. [ChangeSchool]. (2015, December 14). Dr. Tony Bates on building effective learning environments [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xD_sLNGurA&feature=youtu.be


Thomas, D., & Brown, J. S. (2011). A new culture of learning: Cultivating the imagination for a world of constant change. Lexington, KY: CreateSpace.


Thomas, D. [TEDx Talks]. (2012, September 12). A new culture of learning, Douglas Thomas at TEDxUFM[Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lM80GXlyX0U&feature=youtu.be

Photo by Media from Wix "playing with toy vehicles"

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page