top of page
  • Writer's pictureHillary Turnage

The compass will direct my path


Ito (2015) says that education is what people do to you and learning is what you do to yourself. I love that perspective, because receiving an education is mandatory, but the learning is up to the individual. That so easily transitions into the thought behind blended learning. Markoff (2014) so eloquently defined what blended learning is and what it is not. Blended learning is not just having students on the computer for the sake of learning technology skills, while that is important. Blended learning is using the technology to enhance the educational experience.

Markoff (2014) says there is no right way or best practice when it comes to blended learning. I plan on using the station rotation model in my classroom. My students will rotate between face to face time with me, using a computer for learning and then a hands on learning station. While my students are at their computer station they will be focused on skills that are individualized for them so that they are able to go at their own pace as well as have flexible choice. It is my hope that with this model my students are able to take ownership of their learning.

Ito (2015) says that often people get caught up in the planning and mapping of a project when instead we should "deploy or die". In a sense, as Nike says we should "just do it". Yes there is value in planning to an extent, but more importantly we should keep our compass at the forefront. Knowing where we want to go, not knowing how exactly we will get there. This makes me think of other projects and initiatives that I have started in my classroom over the years. I start at one place but it is continually growing and changing as my students needs are, as I use trial and error to see what works and what doesn't. I think this just reiterates again what Markoff (2014) says, there is no one way to initiate blended learning in your classroom.

At the end of the day, I want my students to have choice, ownership and flexibility over their learning. How I get there doesn't need to be fully mapped out yet; the compass will direct me on the best path for my students.

References

Joshua Perry. (2015). Joi Ito Want to innovate Become a “now ist.” Retrieved June 15, 2023, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vRAMQJJu7uY.

TEDx TEd Talks. (2014). Click here-- blended learning and the future of education: Monique Markoff at TEDxIthacaCollege. Retrieved June 15, 2023, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mb2d8E1dZjY.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page