top of page
  • Writer's pictureHillary Turnage

Seesaw as an ePortfolio?



ePortfolios seem to be great tool to help students engage and reflect in their learning and the process. Students are able to use it as a way to set goals, monitor them and set a new course to adjust them. Being a kindergarten teacher, though, I struggled to put my mind around this. I was stuck thinking of an eportfolio only in the way we are doing one in class. However, reading some of my peers posts I quickly thought of Seesaw or ClassDojo for lower elementary students. I personally have used Seesaw in my classroom for several years and while I never formally thought of it as an ePortfolio it certainly is! This piques my interest even more and I am excited to use it with intentionality this year.

An ePortfolio is a great instrument for reflecting. In just my short time using mine I have already put that aspect to use. I have used my discussion posts and consider those of my peers and reflected on my stance. I think this could be a valuable tool for the classroom for students to be able to do the same. Thinking forward, I think of how I can transition this to my classroom as well. I want my students to be able to use their portfolio as a means to check in on their goals, reflect and self-monitor. While, yes, they are very young in kindergarten they are very capable and more than ready to start owning some of their learning!


References

41 Benefits of an ePortfolio


Reflection4Learning –


Seesaw


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page