top of page
  • Writer's pictureHillary Turnage

Nurturing a Learner's Mindset




In just my short time in this program I have already started incorporating the COVA approach into my own classroom. I sat down just last week and as I was sorting through some of my old stations and looking for new ones I was holding it against the COVA standards.

When reading about the Learner's Mindset, I came across a blog post of Dr. H's. He stated that "Learner’s Mindset – a state of being where people act on their intrinsic capacity to learn and respond to their inquisitive nature that leads to viewing all interactions with the world as learning opportunities." This gets me thinking about my kindergarten students. They are at the prime of their questioning and ability to learn. Young children are innately curious and are constantly asking "why". Often times a traditional school setting unfortunately squashes their curiosity and desire to learn. Thankfully I have a unique opportunity as a kindergarten teacher because my students have most likely come into my classroom with a learner's mindset and it is my job to nourish it.

References

Harapnuik, D. (2022, September 23). Using the Learner’s Mindset – How and Why This Works. It’s About Learning. September 16, 2023, https://www.harapnuik.org/?p=9279


photo: "DIY Children's Activity" by Medis by Wix

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page