top of page
  • Writer's pictureHillary Turnage

It's time to play ball... maybe.





I have watched so many videos and read many articles on the growth mindset before. And every time I think I've come to a place of real growth mindset, I see something new and realize I am still stuck in my fixed mindset in so many ways. There are definitely areas and aspects of my life that I have grown in and see challenges as an opportunity, but then when I get overwhelmed with my workload I get thrown right back in to my "all is lost" mentality and get discouraged and want to give up because I am not confident I can succeed.

There is a huge difference between confidence and a growth mindset. I am very confident in a lot of things; things that I am good at. However, when it comes to things I am not skilled in or have trouble mastering, that's where I shy away from it. For example, I am confident in my technology skills. At work, I am the one everyone on my teams comes to ask for help with their technology. I am usually able to help them and if I don't know, I typically can easily figure it out or know where to find the answer. However, when it comes to anything physical activity related, like sports, count me out. I have terrible hand-eye coordination, I'm clumsy and overall uncoordinated. Athleticism doesn't come natural to me and puts me out of my comfort zone. WAY out of my comfort zone to be honest.

But what I have learned, this is where the biggest growth can happen. When I get uncomfortable, that's when I can really start to grow. There really is nowhere but up from where I am. What do I have to lose? Nothing, only improvement can happen when I start to see every challenge as an opportunity to learn a new skill. Only improvement can happen when I don't give up and finally make progress in a goal. Only improvement can happen when I don't see my failure as the end all be all. Maybe this is my cue to finally start that workout program I've been avoiding... maybe.

I definitely have some work to do to grow my growth mindset more, but thankfully that's just it... it CAN grow. It just hasn't fully YET!


photo: "sports plan" by Media from Wix

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page